Facing a similar problem?
Save time and get personal support. Quick and reliable solutions.
If you have selected the free trial of individual programs like Dropbox Plus or Professional, you can cancel the trial before it ends so you won’t be charged.
If you fail to cancel your free trial before it ends, you’ll be charged for the subscription with the billing information you provided when you signed up, in case you did provide any.
Note: A free trial is not the same as a Dropbox Basic account, which is also free. Learn how to delete your Dropbox Basic account instead.
Learn how to cancel a free trial if you signed up with a phone or tablet.
Learn how to cancel a free trial of Dropbox Business.
If you signed up for a free trial on a computer, you can cancel the trial on dropbox.com. To do so:
Once you are done, you will receive an email confirmation for the same. In case you have signed up using a credit card, your plan will be downgraded to Dropbox Basic at the end of your trial period. If you signed up with PayPal, your trial will end and your plan will be downgraded immediately.
Note: If you signed up for your free trial on a mobile device, you’ll need to cancel the trial from your mobile app store or device settings.
When you had initially signed up for your free Dropbox trial, you would have received an email from [email protected] with the terms of the trial subscription, including the length of the trial. If not, please check your spam folder. You can also find the terms of the trial on the billing page of your account settings.
If you cancel your free trial before it ends, you won’t be charged for the plan. When you cancel a free trial:
Your account will be downgraded to a free Dropbox Basic plan. If you signed up with a credit card, your account will be downgraded at the end of the trial period. If you signed up with PayPal, your account will be downgraded immediately.
You’ll retain access to all your files and folders, as well as any content that was shared with you.
Your account will be limited to the 2 GB storage quota of Dropbox Basic. If you exceed that limit, your account will stop syncing to your devices.
You’ll be able to recover deleted files and restore earlier versions of files for 30 days.
Just like when you had originally signed up for the Dropbox free trial, once you cancel your Dropbox free trial, you’ll receive a confirmation email from [email protected] If you don’t see it in your inbox, check your spam folder. You can also check the plan page of your account settings to confirm your plan has been downgraded to Basic.
If your free trial ended and you have been charged for a subscription, you can downgrade to a free Dropbox Basic account by cancelling your current subscription. Your account will be downgraded at the end of your billing cycle.
If you tried to cancel your trial before it ended but were charged for a subscription, check your support options for more help.
What to know first
Deleting or uninstalling the Dropbox app from your phone or computer doesn’t end your free trial or delete your account, it only removes the app.
Cancelling the free trial doesn’t remove the Dropbox app from your phone or computer, it only downgrades your account to a free Basic plan.
Check your next billing date
You can view your past and future billing dates on the billing page of your account settings at dropbox.com/account/billing.
Find your Dropbox account email
If you have a Dropbox charge on your billing statement, but you don’t remember which email account you signed up with, you can look up the charge using this transaction ID tool.
Learn more about looking up Dropbox credit card charges.
Find your current Dropbox plan
If you’re not sure what type of account you have right now, sign in to dropbox.com and go to https://www.dropbox.com/account/plan.
Facing a similar problem?
Save time and get personal support.